Staff of the CITES Secretariat


Please send all official communications to: [email protected]

John E. Scanlon Secretary-General
Administrative Services
Susanne Bengtsson Team Leader, Administrative Services
Philippe Brarda Administrative Assistant
Noemi Reyes Finance Assistant
Virginia Rothenbuhler Executive Assistant to the Secretary-General
Governing Bodies and Meeting Services
David Morgan Chief, Governing Bodies and Meeting Services
Hélène Gandois Programme and Documentation Officer
Nadia Berny Meetings & Conference Assistant
Victoria Zentilli Documents Assistant
Pascal Perraud Documents Clerk
Esther Kang Conference Clerk (Intern)
Knowledge Management and Outreach Services
Haruko Okusu Chief, Knowledge Management and Outreach Services
Liu Yuan Programme and Communications Officer
Markus Pikart Programme Support Officer
Shashika Sedara Hettige
Website assistant (consultant)
Scientific Services
Tom De Meulenaer Chief, Scientific Services
(vacant) Scientific Support Officer
Karen Gaynor Scientific Support Officer
Milena Sosa Schmidt EU Support to CITES Project Coordinator
Daniel Kachelriess Marine Species Officer (JPO)
Aziz Baran Yilmaz Aquatic Species Support Officer (secondment)
Clara Nobbe CITES-CMS Programme Officer
Eleonora Palmero Documents Clerk (Consultant)
Lauren Lopes Scientific Support Assistant (Intern)
(vacant) MIKE Coordinator
David Henson MIKE Programme Management Officer
Mrigesh Kshatriya MIKE Data Scientist
Margaret Onyango MIKE Administrative & Finance Assistant
(vacant) MIKE Programme Assistant
Jina Choi Consultant
Regulatory Services
Juan Carlos Vasquez Chief, Legal Affairs & Compliance
Sofie H. Flensborg Legal Support Officer
Ben Janse van Rensburg Chief, Enforcement Support
Pia Jonsson Enforcement Support Officer
Edward van Asch ICCWC Support Officer 
Johannes Stahl Enforcement Support Officer (consultant)
Penelope-Anne Benn Research Assistant


Unfunded Vacancies
Deputy Secretary-General
French Translator
Spanish Translator
Trade and Legal Policy Officer
Assistant to Deputy Secretary-General
Research Assistants (2)

Contact details of the Secretariat:

International Environment House
Chemin des Anemones
1219 Châtelaine
Geneva, Switzerland
Telephone : +41(22) 917 8139 / 40
Fax : +41(22) 797 3417
[email protected]